• Duties and functions of Members 

The Parliament has up to 275 members representing the 55 AU Member States that have ratified the Protocol establishing it (¬five members per Member State, including at least one woman and representing the diversity of political opinions in their own national parliament or deliberative organ).
Under rule 7(2) of the PAP Rules of Procedure, a parliamentarian’s tenure of office shall begin when he or she has taken the oath of office or made a solemn declaration during a PAP plenary session.
A parliamentarian’s term should correspond to his or her own national parliament term or any other deliberative organ that elected or designated the parliamentarian. This proportionate representation gives smaller countries the same rights, access and opportunity be heard and participate in the African affairs.