PAP renews leadership of Regional Caucuses


The Pan-African Parliament (PAP) has elected the leadership of its Regional Caucuses at the currently underway PAP Ordinary Session held in Midrand, South Africa.

The PAP regional caucuses are divided into five constituencies comprising of North, Central, Eastern, Western and Southern.

According to the PAP rule 83 of establishment and composition of regional caucuses, each region shall form a regional caucus consisting of all the Member states from that region. The organ performs any other function as assigned to it by the Bureau or the Permanent Committee on Rules, Privileges and Discipline or by resolution of Parliament.

After various consultations and engagements, the Eastern Caucus elected Hon. Terrence Mondon from Seychelles as its Chairperson, while Hon. Felix Okot Ogong from Uganda emerged as the Deputy Chairperson. The Caucus settled for Hon. Halo Mohamed Ibrahim of Djibouti as its Rapporteur.

The Southern Caucus elected Hon. Pemmy Majodina from South Africa as its Chairperson deputised by Hon. Aires Bonifácio Baptista Ali from Mozambique. Hon. Robert Magongo from Eswatini emerged as the Rapporteur.

The Central Africa Caucus saw Hon. Jaynet Désirée Kabila from DRC emerging as the Chairperson with Hon. Juan Ruko of Equatorial Guinea becoming the Deputy Chairperson and Hon. Clement Ndombe from Central African Republic is the Rapporteur.

Meanwhile, Hon. Alhagie Mbow from The Gambia was elected as the West African Caucus Chairperson and Hon. Paulin Gbenou (Benin) as the Deputy Chairperson while Hon. Rosemarie Bangura from Sierra Leon is the Rapporteur.

Finally, the northern caucus chose Hon. Sen. Azzeddine Abdelmadjid from Algeria as Chairperson. Hon. Yousef Mohmmed Alfakhri (Libya) was favoured for the position of Deputy Chairperson, and Hon. Meriem Mohamedu from Sahrawi is the elected Rapporteur.

The primary function of regional caucuses is to select names from among their members for nomination for the election of the PAP President or Vice-Presidents, membership to Permanent Committees and participation in other parliamentary bodies or proceedings.