Candidates for the by-elections of the PAP Bureau


Following meetings of the Regional Caucuses held on the 22nd March 2024, the list of candidates for the by-elections to fill vacancies in the Pan-African Parliament Bureau has been revealed.

As a reminder, the positions of President, First Vice President, and Fourth Vice President of the Bureau are currently vacant following rotation within delegations, elections and unconstitutional changes of government in some African Union Member States.

Consistent with the rotation principle established in June 2022 and adhering to the guidelines set by the Office of the Legal Counsel of the African Union, these vacancies will be filled, respectively, by the Southern Caucus (President), Northern Caucus (First Vice President), and Central Caucus (Fourth Vice President).

The said guidelines further stipulate, “For the nomination of the President, a region may present one candidate, and for the nomination of the Vice President, each region shall present two candidates, ensuring equal representation.”

The Pan-African Parliament will hold elections for members of the Bureau on the 25th March 2024.

The full list of candidates is as follows: 

Southern Africa Regional Caucuses

Nomination of a Candidate for the Position of President

Hon. Chief Fortune Zephania Charumbira – Zimbabwe

Northern Africa Regional Caucuses

Nomination of Candidates for the Position of 1st Vice President

Hon. Prof. Massouda Mohamed Laghdaf – Mauritania

Hon. Abdessalam Horma – Mauritania

Central Africa Regional Caucuses

Nomination of Candidates for the Position of 4th Vice President

Hon. Djidda Mamar Mahamat - Chad

Hon. Anita Ndayizeye - Burundi